Join my Mailing List for Free Books!

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

GCC Presents Elana Johnson and POSSESSION!

I'm super-excited to tour this next guest on the Girlfriends Cyber Circuit! You may know her as the organizer of WriteOnCon, an amazing online writer's convention. She's also the author of FROM THE QUERY TO THE CALL, a great resource for writers, and the founding author of the QueryTrackerBlog. Besides all of that, we share the same fabulous editor at Simon Pulse! If you don't know Elana yet, here is your chance! Her debut YA novel POSSESSION just released and we're celebrating it this week on GCC!


About the book:
 Vi knows the Rule: Girls don’t walk with boys, and they never even think about kissing them. But no one makes Vi want to break the Rules more than Zenn…and since the Thinkers have chosen him as Vi’s future match, how much trouble can one kiss cause? The Thinkers may have brainwashed the rest of the population, but Vi is determined to think for herself.

But the Thinkers are unusually persuasive, and they’re set on convincing Vi to become one of them….starting by brainwashed Zenn. Vi can’t leave Zenn in the Thinkers’ hands, but she’s wary of joining the rebellion, especially since that means teaming up with Jag. Jag is egotistical, charismatic, and dangerous: everything Zenn’s not. Vi can’t quite trust Jag and can’t quite resist him, but she also can’t give up on Zenn.

This is a game of control or be controlled. And Vi has no choice but to play.

What People Are Saying:

"Possession held me completely captivated from beginning to end. And what an end! I fell in love with the characters and had countless moments of 'Wow.'"
--James Dashner, bestselling author of The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials

"Who Should Read This: Anyone who wants a challenge: This plot is so twisty, I had to read the last chapter twice before I could believe what happened. There's also a very nice balance between badass action and romantic tension for readers who like a good mix of the two."
--MTV.com


“Most [readers] will be drawn in by the love triangle, revelations about Vi and her family, and a dark twist ending that maintains the faintest glimmer of hope.”
--Publisher's Weekly


"This debut dystopian succeeds at suspense and tension.... Revelations come hard and fast." --Kirkus

“Emotion pumps through every scene of this thriller. Given all the urgency and action, the novel’s ending may surprise readers as the heroic adventure turns into a tragic love story.” –School Library Journal


“An intriguing dystopia…A good choice for fans of Pam Bachorz and Ally Condie.” --Booklist


The Interview with Elana:

1. Tell me about your book in seven words or less.
Angry girl + brainwashing messages + cute boys = Possession

2. Other than your main character, who's a favorite character of yours in your novel and why?
I really like Pace Barque. He’s the brother of my male MC, and there’s something “quiet” about him that I love.

3. What's one piece of writing advice you would give to aspiring authors?
Allow yourself to write badly, so you can figure out how you write best.

4. What did you write when you were a teen? Did you journal? Write poetry? Write overly literary or emotional stories? Or avoid writing altogether?
Oh, I hated writing as a teen. I was a math girl. I even have a math minor! Writing didn’t come until much later in my life.

5. What's the last book you read that you really loved?
VARIANT by Robison Wells. It’s coming from HarperTeen in October.

All the very best to Elana and POSSESSION! To read the first two chapters or find out more, go to the official POSSESSION website.

1 comment:

  1. Yay, Elana! I haven't gotten my hands on POSSESSION yet, but I'm looking forward to reading it. :) Great advice re letting yourself write badly. Giving ourselves permission to suck is very good for our creativity!

    ReplyDelete