Join my Mailing List for Free Books!

Monday, October 11, 2010

GCC Presents Linda Gerber and TRANCE!

My next guest on the Girlfriends Cyber Circuit is Linda Gerber. Linda is the author of the popular Death by Bikini, Death by Latte, and Death by Denim as well as two books in the S.A.S.S. series.


Almost everyone has wished that they could take a glimpse into the future—but what if such visions came unbidden, and they only foretold danger? Linda Gerber weaves this idea into a chilling and satisfying young adult novel with TRANCE (Speak; 9780142414156; October 14, 2010; Ages 12 up; $7.99). Perfect for fans of Wake, Gerber’s latest paranormal thriller is a dark but addictive tale of one girl’s curse to unwillingly foresee future tragedies, and the debilitating toll that it takes on her present life—until she realizes that her unwanted power may be more of a gift than a curse.


Welcome, Linda!  Can you tell me about your book in seven words or less?
Trance, romance, suspense and a motorcycle-riding musician. (We’re going to pretend that the hyphenated word counts as one, right?)

Other than your main character, who's a favorite character of yours in your novel and why? 
I came to really like Gina, Ashlyn’s tell-it-like-it-is, free-spirit co-worker. I wish I could be more open and honest, like her.

What's one piece of writing advice you would give to aspiring authors?
I love Diana Gabaldon’s simple “Read. Write. Don’t stop.”
Read all the good books you can get your hands on. Soak it in.
Write every day, even if it’s only for a few minutes. Even if it’s not easy. Especially when it’s not easy.
Don’t stop. Keep repeating steps one and two. And don’t let discouragement or distractions or TV shows or Internet games get in your way.


What did you write when you were a teen? Did you journal? Write poetry? Write overly literary or emotional stories? Or avoid writing altogether?
I kept a journal, and I wrote short stories and essays that I never let anyone see.
 

What's the last book you read that you really loved?
WINTERGIRLS by Laurie Halse Anderson. Wow.

Thanks so much for stopping by, Linda, and all the best with your release of TRANCE! To find out more, check out Linda's website at www.lindagerber.com

1 comment:

  1. Best of luck with the release of TRANCE Linda! It sounds fantastic!

    ReplyDelete